My First Instameet!

IMG_0559I feel like I haven’t really done a lifestyle update recently, so I thought it would be fun to fill you guys in on what I did this weekend!

As you can see in the photo, there’s a dinosaur on my head.  Well that’s because I was invited to an instameet (instagram meet) for the new Disney and Pixar movie, The Good Dinosaur!  We all met at the Golden Valley Ranch Open Space and started taking pictures that represented the essence of the movie.  What could be better, right??  Even though the movie isn’t released yet, just by seeing the trailer and posters, you can tell it’s all about adventure.  Which was perfect for the scenery we were in.   There were also delicious sweets and treats for all of us which was a nice surprise.

IMG_0554Okay, back to the pictures.  I found my little Arlo (that’s the dinosaur’s name) from Target, and brought him along for the adventure.  I wasn’t the only one with this idea either.  Pretty much everyone that showed up had an Arlo, or another Dinosaur toy from the movie.  I also brought my new Pixar ball that my very good friend, Skylar (who was also co-hosting the event), gave me when he had the lucky chance to visit the Pixar studios a few weeks before.  I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to use it in some of my photos!  It’s safe to say, it’s my new favorite possession.  What’s even more fun about the photos we were taking, were that at the end of the day, we picked our favorite one to be entered into a contest!  Whoever won got two tickets to The Good Dinosaur premiere!  All we had to do was post our favorite photo to Instagram, tag @thegooddinosaur and #gooddinomeet.  That’s it!  And, obviously, the photo had to relate to the movie.

Screen Shot 2015-11-17 at 5.54.49 PMHunter came with me to the meet, and we took this very seriously, needless to say.  On the drive up to the ranch, he was putting together a loincloth to represent the little boy in the movie, Spot.  And youbetcha he wore that loincloth!  Obviously the photo turned out great and hilarious, as you can see on the left.  Definitely a head turner.

The photo I ended up choosing to enter was a photo that Hunter and I both thought really grasped the essence of the movie.  In the movie posters, you see Spot and Arlo surrounded by a dark sky with nothing but stars lighting it up.  It’s really magical and sweet so we thought it would be good to incorporate that same magical feel to this picture.  Even thought it wasn’t dark outside, I thought it was still a representation of that magical essence of adventure. IMG_0564 Plus, the sky was so pretty and clear that we couldn’t help but use it any chance we had!

Sadly, neither of us won the contest.  The person who did win though, did a really great job and I’m happy she won.  Honestly, I’m totally fine with not winning.  I know you probably don’t believe me, but it’s true!  We had such a great time and it really felt like we were little kids again!   Just running around in the grass and getting to play with toys again, was definitely an afternoon well spent in my book.  Plus, we got to see the sun setting over the mountains which was so beautiful to see.

IMG_0556I had so so much fun at my first instameet and I can’t wait for the next one!  Thanks again to Disney, Andrew Kuttler, and Skylar Bartlett for hosting that awesome afternoon!

Until next time,

– Grace

Leave a comment